Welcome to the Ravenglass Railway Museum
Your journey starts here!
We are now OPEN! Visit our brand-new museum open daily 9Am - 5Pm .
Stay tuned for our new website, arriving very soon!
Located at Ravenglass Station, the Museum tells the fascinating story of the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway through our collection of historic artefacts
Pay us a visit and learn about
- The Cumbrian iron ore boom which led to the opening of a 3ft gauge railway between the mines in Boot and the main-line railway at Ravenglass in 1875
- The purchase of 'Owd Ratty' and its re-imagining as a 15inch gauge line by
W.J. Bassett-Lowke in 1915
- The closure and saving of the railway in 1960 by local businessmen and the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway Preservation Society
- How the railway operates today as one of the Britain's premier tourist railways
The museum is open whenever the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway is operating, and has been redeveloped for 2017 with assistance from the Heritage Lottery Fund - watch this site for further details